*****Stories for anyone, April 17, 2007

Reviewer:  N. Lindley-gauthier "Carriage Driver" (rochester, NH)See all my reviews


" Woofer, Stories You Can Read to Your Dog (and Other Children,)" by Betty Fasig is a collection of stories from the viewpoint of this delightful dog. 


One truly steps over the threshold into Woofer's world; you see everything from the (quite low to the ground) dog's viewpoint. Every tale is a charming saga from the life of Woofer and his friends.

Not since Anna Sewell have I read works that offer an animal's view point this way. The stories are wonderfully suited for younger audiences, and the action as well as the characters will enthrall them. Actually, this adult reader must admit to being thoroughly enthralled, as well.

There are many clever descriptions, fun puns, and unusual twists to be discovered within the stories. My favorite is the squirrel family who are all " Branch Executives," but a close second is the mouse family "of thousands." Throughout, country animals are featured, from everyday birds to the newcomers Sandy and Sandra Crane, and all the small animals one does not think about ordinarily.

The writer here truly looked outside the human world, to find interaction and wonderful, engaging stories going on right in her back garden. This lovely book is a wonderful reminder of what fun it can be to read. 


--Nancy Lindley-Gauthier 


Betty Fasig’s delightful book of stories about Wooffer and his many friends is now available on CD. The CD’s are attractively encased in bright envelopes, each a different color. The labels on each disc feature a different photo of Wooffer and his pals. 

A lovely addition is a small coloring book featuring Wooffer and his companions. 


The book is read by D.L. Ingram who captures in his tone the subtle layers of meaning and emotion laced throughout the stories. 

Perhaps the most touching story is the first one – of how Wooffer came into Betty’s life on a never-to-be-forgotten Christmas. 

The book is more than just a collection of the adventures of Wooffer and his many friends. It is a commentary on the very best that life has to offer if we approach it with compassion and love for all creation. This philosophy isn’t just Wooffer’s, it is also Betty’s, and it shines through every page of the book. 


This is a loving, life-affirming, uplifting book with a beautiful message for people of every age and walk of life. 

--Kathleen Marie O’Donnell

Author of Wonder In My Soul and Suddenly a Light Shines 


You don't know them..Oh...You missed this book?Get WOOFFER... 


This is the first book I enjoyed with my son and still enjoying..even he knows all the characters of this book..Time has changed ..It was the time when our granny and mummy were telling stories just keeping there hand on our forehead so we can sleep..but what do you expect that my son will sleep ?While reading WOOFFER to him he was sitting like a small alert puppy listening each and every word of Wooffer. 

"Betty Fasig knows well how to get connected with the animal kingdom.If still you are unaware of animal friendship "WOOFFER" will tell you the whole thing. 


In 33 stories Betty has successfully engaged each small or big animal sending some moral messages and leaves an impression on a small kid's mind..He easily recalls the character as well the related story and that's the beauty of "Wooffer".. 

It's a big issue in any body's life when a book turns his/her life or changes her attitude..Practically I noticed that whenever my son is a bit off the track I remind him all the great job done by "WOOFFER" and he accepts that.Wooffer is like a "superhero" for him. 


Not only children, I think even elders should also read this for may be they have forgotten some real basic moral values somewhere in their busy materailistic life.. 

Thank you so much Betty for this Wonderful gift....

_________________

Bhawana 

www.freewebs.com/bhawanaverma/

www.freeyabb.com/phpbb/index.php?mforum=childrensfictio 

*****A Dog Gone Good Book!, May 6, 2006

Reviewer:  Melissa Pike (New York)

Author Betty Fasig has created nothing short of magic with Wooffer Stories, a delightful compilation of thirty-three tales chronicling the life and times of a loveable pup named Wooffer and his furry animal friends. With her uncanny knack for letting her readers glimpse inside the minds and hearts of these humble creatures, and her beautifully poetic writing style, Ms. Fasig has created a volume that is destined to become a classic in children's literature. Five stars are not enough.

*****Animals really do talk., April 23, 2006
Reviewer:Jim Elders

Have you ever wondered if animals can talk? Do they talk to you? Do they understand what you say to them? Do they understand each other? Well, Betty Fasig knows the answers to all those questions, and so does her wonderful little dog, Woofer. 

`Woofer' is a series of stories that brings out the various and distinct personalities of all the animals that live in Betty's world; a world that includes everything from ants to armadillos, robins to crows, and mice to men. `Woofer' is a book that belongs on the table right next to every child's bed for reading those always needed bedtime stories. Each story can only bring sweet dreams. After the children are asleep, adults should take the time to read `Woofer' too. And, in the morning, go out in your yard and have a new relationship with all those critters that want to say something to you. You will have a better day, and a better life.

*****Wonderful Tales of Wooffer,

Ms. Fasig's depiction of Wooffer dances with delight exuding heart warming encounters with animal friends. Wooffer's personality developes immediately as the inquisitive soul that has heart of kindness that never falters. Each encounter represents a colorful story of characters embodied with friendship and life-time alliances. I recommend this read to anyone with a heart. Robert Austin Meacham Author of "Mind's Diary" 

****Wooffer, a child's hero and an adult's delight,
Reviewer: R. deVoll Fisher "deVoll" (Newborn, Georgia, USA)

Wooffwe: Stories You Can Read To Your Dog(and other children) 
by Betty Fasig, PublishAmerica 2004: 
ISBN 1-4137-5587-9 $19.95 
In-depth review: 
Wooffer: Stories You Can Read To Your Dog (and other children) 

Betty Fasig spins enchanting tales for the enjoyment of children and adults alike. Loosely connected by the endearing antics of a very special, beloved little dog, Wooffer is a collection of sweet, gentle stories depicting a subtle moral ideal, providing an excellent opportunity for further discussion during those special bedtime moments, or even as an effective teaching tool when the appropriate situation presents itself. Wooffer and his pals experience many of the joys of being true friends, the trials and tribulations of being disobedient and unkind, the wonder of new life, and the sadness of some of life's unpleasantness, but, through it all, they share a unique bond that helps them all grow and develop into better creatures. 

The thirty-three adventures of Wooffer, the feisty little dachshund that is a special friend to animals and humans alike, offer enough exciting spills, chills, and thrills to provide everyone with a favorite. With friends like Old Agnes, mother of thousands, the exotic peacock Cho Lee Yen, Ibie the Ibis, the Branch Executives - Hoy T. Toity, Sir Doodah, and Mr. A. A. Corn, the members of the Banana Spider Republic, the three feline scrooges, dear Margaret the chicken, and a kung-fu rabbit, along with a host of others, Wooffer learns many of life's most important lessons. Each short chapter is a complete adventure with a myriad of fascinating characters making these tales ideal for a short bedtime story or for whiling away the afternoon just to brighten a rainy day. Every reader will want to pick a favorite and will enjoy these amusing stories again and again. 

In Wooffer: Stories You Can Read To Your Dog (and other children), Betty Fasig imbues her characters with such fascinating personalities and irrepressible charm that whatever weakness in editing mars the perfection of these wonderful stories certainly has no power to distract from their appeal. There is a golden thread of love, hope, friendship, and trust in all of Wooffer's adventures that speak straight from the author's heart to all of Wooffer's friends and will to those that he hasn't even met yet. 
Who could possibly resist the mischievous sparkle in those beautiful brown eyes, or the friendly invitation in the cheerful wag of his irrepressible tail? I heartily recommend that everyone get to know this wonderful little dog and all his friends. Betty Fasig's Wooffer: Stories You Can Tell Your Dog (and other children) is a great addition to every child's library and is sure to be a guilty pleasure for adults as well. 

Review by R. deVoll Fisher, author of Caleb's Branch: An Incomplete Tale Of Unfinished Lives for deVoll's Reviews, Cheers Magazine 2006 

*****I don't often rate books this high! An excellent choice!, January 21, 2006

Reviewer: Lillian Brummet (Canada)


Woofer is a collection of thirty-three short animal-adventure children stories originally written by Betty Fasig for her family. The center character is Woofer, a hairy dachshund puppy that "mom", the author, receives as a surprise Xmas gift from her fun-loving family.


A host of animals grace the pages of Woofer, including Old Agnes the mouse, thoughtful and protective Margaret the hen, Marygrey the pregnant rabbit, a proud and endearing peacock named Cho Lee who loves to strut his stuff and falls in love with a quail, and best friends Ibie the Ibis and Maudie the horse.

The stories are thoughtfully placed in chronological order, right down to the season. It even includes a Xmas story! This is a book about a puppy that changes the opinions of those around him, wins hearts and becomes a reliable, heroic friend. Woofer earns respect from all the animals for miles around and becomes a bit of a legend by the time he grows up.


Generally warm, fun and light-hearted, Woofer also tackles real-life issues from moving, loneliness, gaining respect, discerning truth from what one is told, getting lost, overcoming bullies and more.


Having spent a few years on a farm in my youth, I see germs of truth in the animal relationships and can verify the strange and wonderful bonds that happen between species. The epilogue provides a nice closure by revealing how all the animals still return to the same area annually and spend time with Woofer and his friends discussing the old times and having new adventures.


Inserted occasionally are several adorable amateur drawings of life and adventures on the farm that are sure to entertain children. The cover is a photograph of the inspiration for the main character - the author's dog - which gives a more realistic feel to the book than a characterization or drawing could have done.


The book's underlying theme is that no matter how small a person may think they are, or how small of a thing they may do - they can make a difference to the lives of those around them. And this is an encouraging thought.


Woofer is an excellent book for bedtime stories, but will be best enjoyed when reading to groups of children. Written in such a way that the reader can easily characterize the animals and situations with their voice, the book is sure to bring giggles of joy to groups of children. As such, I think Woofer would be an excellent addition to the bookshelves of libraries, schools, daycare centers and the like.


ISBN#: 1-4137-5587-9

Author: Betty Fasig

Publisher: Publish


~ Book Reviewer: Lillian Brummet - Co-author of the book Trash Talk, a guide for anyone concerned about his or her impact on the environment - Author of Towards Understanding, a collection of poetry. (http://www.sunshinecable.com/~drumit)


*****Move over Dr. Doolittle here comes Betty Fasig and her dog Wooffer and they have stories to tell!, January 16, 2006

Reviewer: Arthur K. Preece "Mary E.G. Preece"  


Wooffer:Stories You Can Read To Your Dog (And Other Children)

by Betty Fasig


Review:Oh! My! How can I best describe Betty Fasig's Book "Wooffer" than to say that Betty is the Mother of all children's stories or should I say dog's stories, or should I say animal's stories. Oh, well, whatever! She is undoubtedly the best fantasy story teller of written words about the animal kingdom I have ever read to date. These stories deserve the finest of Medals, they deserve to be read the world over. They are deserving of the finest artwork in the world. They are deserving of the finest movie scriptwriters available today to turn this montage of children's stories into a Box Office Hit that will rival the best of the best.


The names of the characters are enchanting, fairytale like, and the stories make up a fantasy world so understandable and darling for the young child. They are precious stories that deserve only the very best applause from the literary field and publishers worldwide. Betty I guess you know by now that I loved your book. I highly reccommend it to kids of all ages! Libraries need it. Teachers need to read a chapter a day to their students. Parents need it for nightly bedtime stories. It is wonderful. I love the names, of the animals and wish I could mention them all. Three lazy cats win you over right off their names are Curly, Larry and Moe. Then there are the squirrels, 2 of them being Mr. Hoity Toity and Mr.A.A.Corn. And I could never forget Agnes the mother of thousands. Maudie the horse, Mildred and Claudie Dillo the armadillos. There are so many that keep you enthralled. The buzzards company that picks up the dead because someone has to do it has a small part in the book as Digger,and Rigger the Mortises have to back off from a victim who had not yet succumbed, when Wooffer comes to Maxwell's rescue. Wooffer proves in all cases to be the best friend any of these fine animals could ever have. Wooffer rescued Margaret the Hen from the snake's race at the Indigo 500 when she was left for dead after a bite from one of the snakes. Wooffer teaches Camille who wants to learn to change to more colors than brown or green to climb onto the colored flowers and think the appropriate color until she turns that color, Camille knows to think very hard and then she changes.


This book is such a delight. Betty Fasig proves to be The interpreter of animal talk that might give Dr. Doolittle a run for the title of one loving to talk to the animals.


*****" WOOFFER" GREAT BOOK TO READ FOR EVERYONE, January 10, 2006

Reviewer: Joseph Frank Baraba "Joseph Frank Baraba" (New Mexico)

Betty Fasig's book "Wooffer", is a charming book full of stories with Wooffer her dachshund who befriends the animals on the farm. In reading the many stories you become touched by Wooffer's generous heart and his kind deeds towards his fellow animals. There are so many who become his friends and each has a special story such as Agnes the mouse, Maxwell the dog, Larry, Curly and Moe the funny cats and many other animals who will touch your heart. And then there's Wooffer who I have fallen in love with, he's a special dachshund after my heart. Wooffer is the most enchanting book I've read in many years. I give Betty

Fasig five stars *****


Author Joseph Frank Baraba


*****"Wooffer" The Perfect Story, September 30, 2005

Reviewer: Linda Pannett (Tell City, Indiana United States)


"Wooffer, Stories you can read to your dog and other children" by Betty Fasig is reviewed by Linda Pannett Author of "Silent Killers."


Ms. Fasig is one perfect author bringing together thirty-three perfect animal stories everyone will enjoy. A beautiful book not only for adults it makes a wonderful bedtime story book for a parent to read to their child. Imagination is something all children love and this book "Wooffer" will bring their imagination full circle. "Wooffer" should be in every home and school. I highly recommend this book for all ages.


****Wooffer, September 10, 2005

Reviewer: A reader & editor (Los Angeles)


In Woofer, Betty Fasig reveals a magical world we may have overlooked. Perfect for reading to a child, the book shows us many families in the animal kingdom, even Digger, Rigger and Mortis, three buzzards in the `disposal business.' We learn each form of life, from the family dog to a chameleon scurrying on a limb, has purpose and feelings.


Camille the chameleon desperately wants to win the Changing of the Colors contest, but she knows only green. Wooffer takes her to a patch of flowers where she discovers reds, yellows and even blue. Delighted, she practices turning colors. During the contest, something astonishing happens and her life is forever changed.


Margaret the chicken is rescued from a flea market and she loves her new home--until marauding wild dogs destroy most of her fellow chickens. She decides she's not going to be next so she learns to defend herself. Now she's proud of her fierce reputation and keeps in practice by jumping on Wooffer. However, he's not thrilled, until he realizes her skills can help someone else.


A big yellow Tabby intimidates three homely cats, Larry, Curly and Moe, and Wooffer decides they need help. He takes them on a reconnaissance mission and what was supposed to be a little spying turns into chaos as an unsuspecting lizard and a grasshopper help the cats learn about claws.


In Wooffer's stories, Betty Fasig reminds us in a delightful way that all life is sacred, something we sometimes forget in our hustle, bustle world.


*****Beatrix Potter...move over!, August 27, 2005

Reviewer: Lynn Barry (Fillmore, NY)


I admit to not being much of an animal appreciator. Having said that I am a "Woofer" appreciator. Betty Fasig has created a world of animals inspired by the creatures she loves in her own outdoor world, headed up by her beloved dog, Woofer. Not only do we experience the on the ground, in the air experiences of the non-human types that inhabit our world, I learned to enjoy thinking about creatures in ways beyond how they annoy me with their shedding fur, dirty paws, and barking...just to name a few issues I have. Bravo Ms. Fasig for your wonderful book that must have Beatrix Potter smiling down from heaven...not since reading Potter's stories to my kids have I enjoyed a book of this type until..."Woofer."


****Hip, Hip, Woof, Woof, To Wooffer, August 25, 2005

Reviewer: J. Porter (Rhode Island)


There's nothing like getting caught up in a story. Being an armadillo lover, I wanted to attend the armadillo party. But, alas, I could only read and enjoy the antics of Claudie and dream of her delicious sauce for the worms. After all, I couldn't be a gate crasher like Willy and Nilly 'Dillo.


There are so many other creatures that fill the pages of Betty Fasig's delightful read-aloud style book Wooffer. There's Larry, Curly and Moe, the three most homely cats anyone would want to meet, Ho Chi, the pig, A.A. Corn the squirrel, Agnes, mother of thousands, and Mr. Hoy T. Toity, to name a few. Their stories are short and poignant and will appeal to readers young and old. I was touched by the moving story of Old Laddie, left on a country road to die and how the other fur and feathered friends helped him find a new home.


This is a book to own and share. I found it delightful and I'm sure you will too.

Judith Porter, author of Coco Twain Tells the Truth, Publish America, 2005.


*****Wooffer's Tales, August 9, 2005

Reviewer: Joyce A. Edmondson "jaebooks" (Sunrise, Florida)


Wooffer is a fast paced action book that any self-respecting human must read from inside out. The reason is because Betty Fasig, with her special knowledge of humans and animals along with her gift of language, is able to enter into the heart of Wooffer and describe with humor and understanding the thoughts, feelings and antics of this little long-haired dachshund and his many animal friends.


Wooffer, the little dog with a big heart, is a loyal and compassionate friend to both his mom (the author) and companions. To say that Wooffer has many friends, however, is an understatement. In truth, he has a multitude--from Agnes, mouse mother of thousands, to Mr. Ryte---who you will meet in her book---if you haven't already in real life! The author gives human traits and names to both Wooffer and his friends. You will meet Mr. Hoy T. Toity, as well as Willy and Nilly, the armadillo family, and many others throughout the book who will amuse and delight you.


We begin to understand Ms. Fasig's genuine sense of humor and love for animals when Wooffer rescues Agnes mouse and her thousands from a natural disaster that threatens their lives, and learns from the squirrels how to climb a tree.


This unforgettable and charming book is highly recommended as a Christmas gift for anyone who is a friend to animals or humans of all ages. I plan to buy several, and read them to my dogs and other grandchildren.


*****Five golden stars (in honor of my Golden Retriever of long ago.)

Wooffer, stories for young and old (dogs and people), August 4, 2005

Reviewer: David Sidney Rosenberg


Betty Fasig's, Wooffer: Stories You Can Read to Your Dog, is for children, what humorist Garrison Keeler's homespun-tales of Lake Wobegone is for adults. By joining Wooffer's adventures, you'll meet mouse-Mother Agnes, mother of the Thousands, Camille the Chameleon, and many other creatures found on or near the farm, Wooffer the dog, knows as home. Wooffer's world is where friendly squirrels find a high-wire highway to nearby lands filled with acorns; where wild pigs dance in a moonlit woods; where a fear-crazed chicken learns martial arts and eventually teaches self-defense skills to timid rabbits; and where crows tell whoppers to the farmyard pig while they deftly pilfer the pig's feed trough.


The book enchants both the listener and the reader. Truly, Betty Fasig's book bridges the gap between the old and the young, and grandparents will marvel at their grandchildren's appreciation as they read aloud these tender and delightful stories.


An unmistakable subtext surfaces as Wooffer and the many animals of different shapes, sizes, and colors, develop mutual respect, collective cooperation, and finally love for one another. The magic contained within these pages describes the power of love. Children, dogs, and grandparents already know about love; perhaps Wooffer: Stories You Can Read to Your Dog, should be mandatory reading for members of the United Nations as a reminder that love makes the world a better place for everyone. Betty Fasig's book adds to the world's inventory of love.


Submitted by: David S. Rosenberg, author of No Shortage of Evil


*****A warm , fuzzy book, July 9, 2005

Reviewer: Deborah Rose "author of ELLIE" (Ca)


All animal lovers will enjoy this book, but this book is a must-have for parents who read to their children, especially at bedtime. It has an easy and comforting feel to it , like sitting on grandma's lap for a hug.

The author uses charming descriptions and very clever names for her characters. This book will keep children enthralled and will calm the inner child of the adults who read it. I highly recommend this feel good book about a wonderful dog named Woofer. As another reviewer said, this book is such a treat in a world that bombards us with bad news and violence daily.


*****Gotta Read About Wooffer, June 30, 2005

Reviewer: D Rae (Iowa)


In this day and age when 99% of what we read and see is death, destruction and sorrow, it was a breath of fresh air to read this wonderfully written compilation of stories; for young and old alike. There is so much talent in the writing I don't know where to begin. Each time I read the well-chosen animal names I had to smile, especially Mr. Hoy T. Toity, one of the squirrel friends. Then there is Ho Chi, the Vietnamese Pig and Old Agnes, the matriarch of the large family of mice. Mr. A.A. Corn was the one squirrel willing to help Wooffer learn the art of tree climbing - a talent that came in handy for him at times. All through this book you share Betty's love of all animals. You feel like you are a part of their life experiences as they go through their challenges for existence, each in their own habitat with their own way of living. By the time I had finished the book, I personally wanted to meet each of the many animals in Wooffer's vast world but I especially wanted to meet Wooffer, the brave and courageous. And, Wooffer's mom is no "Mamby-Pamby-Milksop" either. What a wonderful book! I'm still smiling! As Betty says, read it to your pets, your children, your parents and your grandparents. It's an entertaining and educational read for all. I give it as many stars as there is in the sky.


*****Wooffer: Stories You Can Read To Your Dog (and other children), June 28, 2005

Reviewer: Shelagh Watkins "http://shelaghwatkins.co.uk/" (UK)


Some children's books are meant to be read by children on their own and some are meant to be read aloud. Betty Fasig's book of short stories is a book that children will just love to listen to. These enchanting stories make perfect bedtime stories and I can imagine children all over the world asking for their favourite stories to be read again and again. The author's enthusiasm and love of animals, which shines through on every page, is infectious and young children will be captivated by characters such as Mr. Autumn A. Corn, Mr. Hoy T. Toity, Sir Right (Dickey) Doodah and, of course, Wooffer. I thoroughly recommend this book to all animal lovers, especially parents and children who love a good story. Shelagh Watkins author Mr. Planemaker's Flying Machine


*****Wonderful Bedtime Read!, May 26, 2005

Reviewer: Kelli Deister


Wooffer: Stories you can read to your dog (and other children)

Written by Betty Fasig


Betty Fasig has written a lovely book of short stories for children of all ages. Each story holds humor, as well as lessons for the children. The lessons are not clearly stated, but are understood as one reads the events of each story. An example of some of the lessons or gems in the stories are: learning to follow instructions, respecting others, protecting your friends and family, having compassion for those less fortunate than you, how to build your self-esteem, standing up for what you believe, and having proper manners when eating.


The names that Betty Fasig comes up with for the creatures are extremely funny and unique. I adore the names she has come up with for her animal characters in the different stories. Betty's writing skills bring the events alive for the children on a level that they can comprehend and grasp.


One of my favorite stories is Cat Lessons because Wooffer the dog teaches three cats how to behave like cats. This is an incredibly humorous story as Wooffer mimics a neighboring cat and then trots off to teach the three cats that live with him what he has observed.


I recommend this book to all parents of children, regardless of their age. I believe it is a perfect bedtime read for all families. I also recommend that this book be placed in elementary school libraries, since I believe that children would thoroughly enjoy it. Though I am an adult, I can only imagine the laughter and lessons that can be provided for many of our youth through Betty Fasig's book.


Kelli Deister

Embracing the Storm: Jewels for Victims of Domestic Violence


*****You Will Smile As You Read Wooffer, May 26, 2005

Reviewer: Carol Troestler (Prairie du Sac, WI United States)


Betty Fasig's book, Wooffer, keeps the reader smiling from the cover to the ending. It is filled with love and warmth. The stories are told from the viewpoints of Wooffer and his animal friends who tackle real life problems together. Betty's animal characters are fascinating with names to match. She says it is to be read to dogs and children, but I have no dog and there are no children here at the present time, and I have loved every word and every character. Betty is Wooffer's mom who is ready to help the animals when needed. And I love Wooffer. What a dog! For anyone who has ever loved a dog, they will love Wooffer.


Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:16 pm Post subject: WOOFER, Stories... by Betty Fasig


Betty Fasig’s constellation of animal-star stories is a foolproof way to de-stress after too much interaction with humans who are less kind than her animal protagonists, or when the techno-driven pace of life has you hoping for a brief power outage to turn off the outside world and insulate yourself.


I believe that even folks who are not necessarily big “animal lovers” will find the stories a good change of pace from the news channel, action-thrillers, and digitally animated stories on the small and large screens. Not that the stories are boring; they are anything but. Animal appreciators young and old will enjoy these stories even more; my thirty-something police officer son to this day was deeply affected by a book that contained animals as the characters and he is next to read my copy of “Woofer.” His experience with a story “peopled” by fur-, fin-, and winged-people, taught me a valuable lesson and I think that Betty’s book can serve the same purpose for youngsters: My son experienced extreme stress and turmoil from his sixth through his seventeenth year. At times, he needed to get away, even if by immersing himself in a book; he recently told me that the animal story was The Book he escaped through and regrouped.


Woofer and his animal friends offer the same “safe place” emotionally for youngsters -- and older ones -- who may also need that retreat for a time. I hope that Woofer and his friends make a return visit in another book from the little haven in Florida.

_________________

Naomi

http://www.naomibigelowbooks.com


*****Did you ever see??, May 17, 2005

Reviewer: Edd Voss (Springdale Wa)


Woofer

Stories You Can Read to Your Dog and Other Children.

By Betty Fasig

Did you ever see a dog that could climb a tree or fly? With the help of his friends Woofer does that and much more. Meet the greatest collection of animal heroes in the annals of story telling. With a harkening back to the stories of Uncle Remus, see how Ho Chi the Vietnamese Pot Bellied Pig learns that some stories are just that stories while others are just better left to the imagination. Learn how important friends and family are through the adventures of Woofer the smartest dog in the world. Good for all ages.


*****A Howling Good Time!, February 15, 2005

Reviewer: Colonel Alonzo Fugate "The Colonel" (Kentucky)


A Howling Good Time!


Two paws way up for Wooffer: Stories You Can Read to Your Dog (And Other Children). This tale of tails (and snouts and furry fun!) is one that will delight readers of all ages. The stories are delightful and will hold the attention of children. Parents will love sharing them at bedtime as each story has its own plot.


I really enjoyed the way that the stories all flowed together. The characters are lovable and memorable. Families will also appreciate the fact that the stories teach life lessons in kindness and empathy.

Overall, a great book! No dog-bones about it!


A review of Wooffer by Betty Fasig, ISBN 1413755879 Publish America 2004 154 pp.


Review by D. K. Christi, author of Arirang: The Bamboo Connection


Thirty-three delightful stories take the reader immediately into the world of animal characters so well-described that they become friends of the reader. The central character, Wooffer, provides a pivot around whom the rest of the animals live out their very human stories, written for the enjoyment of children.


Wooffer, the book, immediately assumes that the reader believes animals can speak and react to life with very human emotions. The beauty of this assumption is the freedom provided to discuss many of life's touchy subjects within the safety of animal thoughts and behaviors: loss, love, aging, pain, danger, disability, dreams, jealousy, victory over adversity, anger and an even longer list of life's challenges. Wooffer's friends take on these challenges and resolve them with the occasional help of their human mothers.


Each story stands alone yet gives the reader an expanding affection for the characters that repeat and allow for tears as well as laughter. A sensitive reader might shed a tear for the old dog, abandoned by its owner or cheer on the dogs who fly (with the help of a feathered friend.) Their clever names also make them memorable.


The stories will delight children of many ages, and are fun to read out loud. One mark of good children's literature is its enjoyment by adults also. This is a charming book for any adult who loves animals. It is a great gift for children and the young at heart.